Official Series Partners

Azores Rallye 2020

Azores Rallye 2020 - 17-19/09/2020

Where: Ponta Delgada, São Miguel

The rally in 100 words: Based on the mid-Atlantic Ocean archipelago’s largest island of São Miguel, the rally turns 55 in 2020 and remains one of the most spectacular events on the international calendar. Stages criss-cross breath-taking scenery and lush countryside and are characterised by their sandy surface and narrow and undulating nature. And because the timed tests are often no wider than the width of a car, there is simply no margin for error, particularly on the Sete Cidades test along the rim of a volcanic crater lake. Changeable weather is also a factor with conditions switching from sunshine to showers and fog patches.

Event eligibility:
FIA European Rally Championship 2020, round 4 of 6
FIA ERC1 Junior Championship 2020, round 3 of 5
FIA ERC3 Junior Championship 2020, round 3 of 5
Abarth Rally Cup 2020, round 3 of 5

Also counting for…
​FIA ERC2, FIA ERC3, FIA European Rally Championship for Teams

What’s new for 2020?
The iconic Sete Cidades, which traditionally ran on the rally’s middle day, will now serve as the event’s deciding stage on the final day as part of a new compact itinerary. In other exciting changes, the Ponta Delgada-based, all-asphalt City Show switches from demonstration event to a competitive stage under a new name, PDL Stage. Meanwhile, Graminhais and the jungle-esque Tronqueira on the east side of São Miguel, will form part of the leg one itinerary having previously taken place on the final day.

Recent winners:
Łukasz Habaj/Daniel Dymurski (ŠKODA Fabia R5)
2018: Alexey Lukyanuk/Alexey Arnautov (Ford Fiesta R5)
2017: Bruno Magalhães/Hugo Magalhães (ŠKODA Fabia R5)
2016: Ricardo Moura/António Costa (Ford Fiesta R5)
2015: Craig Breen/Scott Martin (Peugeot 208 T16)

Five facts:
 When it comes to Azores Rallye success look no further than Fernando Peres, the event’s record-holding seven-time winner.
2: While Ricardo Moura has multiple Azorean championship titles to his name, his Azores Rallye triumph in 2016 was his first on his home round of the ERC.
3: Other winners include WRC stars past and present, such as Craig Breen, Kris Meeke, Andreas Mikkelsen, Juha Kankkunen, Markko Märtin and Bruno Thiry.
4: The Azores archipelago is located roughly equidistant between Lisbon and New York and is made up of nine islands. The fertile soil is perfect for a variety of crops and grazing for livestock.
5: A typical Azorean meal is cozido das fumas stew, cooked in the ground using one pot only.

Event essentials:
 TBA, Portas do Mar, Ponta Delgada
Finishes: TBA, Praça Gonçalo Velho, Ponta Delgada
Headquarters: Pavilhão do Mar – Portas do Mar, Av. Infante D. Henrique, 9500 Ponta Delgada
ERC appearances (since 2004 restructuring): 7 (2013-2019)
Stages: 14
Stage distance: 215.17 kilometres
Liaison distance: 439.10 kilometres
Total distance: 652.03 kilometres
Surface: Gravel
Free Practice (for priority drivers): TBA, Remédios-Lagoa Stage (3.12 kilometres)
Qualifying Stage (for priority drivers): TBA, Remédios-Lagoa Stage (3.12 kilometres)
Shakedown (for all drivers): TBA, Remédios-Lagoa Stage (3.12 kilometres)
Start order selection: TBA, Portas do Mar, Ponta Delgada
Ceremonial start: TBA, Service Park, Portas do Mar, Ponta Delgada

Resources available soon:
*Supplementary regulations
*Rally Guides
*Entry list
*Overview maps
*Start lists

Results and live timing:


14 - 16 AUGUST 2020

PontaDelgada - 04 Aug
23° 23°

Scattered Clouds